Top Three Fantasy Novel Series for Beginners

Lord of the Rings

Lord of the Rings, written by J.R.R. Tolkien, is a fantastic starter series for a beginner. It is a masterpiece of fantasy fiction and enthralls every beginner to enter the Middle Earth, the Midgard of the Norse Mythology. The story begins at Shire, a hobbit village and Frodo Baggins inherits a magical ring from Bilbo, his cousin. Its up to him and his cousins to destroy the ring as it will eventually cause great misery to the land of the Hobbits.  

The books are comparatively long but since the writer has magnificently constructed it, none would escape its charm. It is an epic classic tale of friendship, heroism and love. Join Frodo Baggins and his cousin Bilbo in their fight against the Sauron, the Dark Lord.

It was first published in 1954 and Lord of the Rings is a book which many have treasured even now. The series is a sequel to the 1937 fantasy novel 'The Hobbit.' The trilogy comprises of these books: Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers and The Return of the King. 

Harry Potter

Harry Potter is one of the first books to actually cover the modern magical world. The story of a boy who discovers his heritage deep rich with magic and the cliche megalomaniac enemy who will stop at nothing to kill Harry Potter. The series consists of seven books and the main story arc concerns about the struggle of Harry Potter against Lord Voldemort, a dark wizard who wants to overthrow the Ministry of Magic and suppress all wizards and non-magical people (Muggles). 

It is not overly romantic but at the same time romance is an element. Every element is of equal importance. Harry Potter series is written by J.K Rowling , a British writer. The series has sold over 400 million books and is the recipient of many prestigious awards. The first book 'Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone' was released on June 1997 and gained critical and commercial acclaim all over the globe.

You will grow old with this book series.

Artemis Fowl

Meet Artemis Fowl II, the criminal mastermind, gone good. He is a teenage genius who is search for fairies. This series has eight books and is about him growing up and achieving the unattainable. Artemis Fowl uses his immense intelligence to rebuild his lost family fortune.

You hate him but the same time but will love him. He frustrated you to no end. But he is like the genius older brother you never had. The series was written by Eoin Colfer and the first book was published in 2001.

Read it at any pace you want, but you will enjoy it.

Special Thanks to Karun

Popular Posts